Header Ads

Converge ICT CEO Dennis Anthony Uy wins the EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2022

Converge ICT's CEO and co-founder Dennis Anthony Uy was crowned as EY's 2022 Entrepreneur of the Year.
Converge ICT CEO Dennis Anthony Uy wins the EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2022
Converge CEO Dennis Uy wins EY's Entrepreneur of the Year 2022

Converge CEO Dennis Anthony Uy is EY's Entrepreneur of the Year 2022

At the prestigious Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines 2022 Awards held Monday night, Converge co-founder and CEO Dennis Anthony Uy was hailed as the Entrepreneur of the Year and Master Entrepreneur by EY Philippines for his crucial role in bringing digital connectivity to more Filipinos throughout the country.

The Converge CEO will represent the Philippines at the 2023 World Entrepreneur of the Year Awards in Monte Carlo, Monaco after winning the local EOYP award. The only time a Filipino took home this prestigious honor was in 2004, when Tony Tan Caktiong, the president of Jollibee Foods Corporation, was awarded World Entrepreneur of the Year.

Uy and his wife Grace started Converge in 2007 in their birthplace of Angeles, Pampanga, with the goal of offering Filipinos top-notch ICT services. Converge began offering internet services in 2012 and eventually extended from Central Luzon to Metro Manila using the most recent fiber optic technology. The Pampanga start-up constructed its own national domestic fiber broadband network in 2021, in the midst of the pandemic, connecting Luzon to the key islands of the Visayas and Mindanao. With 6.7 million fiber ports installed, Converge now has one of the largest fiber-to-the-home networks in the Philippines, serving 1.85 million subscribers.

Young Entrepreneur (Leandro Antonio Leviste), Small Business Entrepreneur (Francisco Magsaysay), Technology Entrepreneur (Steve Sy), Woman Entrepreneur (Lisset Laus-Velasco), Emerging Entrepreneur (George Royeca), and Master Entrepreneur were the 6 categories that received awards that evening. Before taking home the top prize, Dennis Anthony Uy also received the latter honor.

Dr. Jikyeong Kang, President, CEO, and Dean of the Asian Institute of Management, presided over the judging panel for this year's prizes. Blesila A. Lantayona, Undersecretary of Trade, Antonette C. Tionko, a former Undersecretary of Finance, McJill Bryant T. Fernandez, Commissioner of the Securities and Exchange Commission, and SteelAsia Manufacturing Corp. were also on the panel.

What do you guys think?

No comments

Powered by Blogger.