Header Ads

Realme banner

Yahoo is killing Yahoo Groups by December 14

OPPO
American web service provider, Yahoo announced some major changes to the Yahoo Groups site.

Yahoo is killing Yahoo Groups by December 14
Yahoo Group's home page

Starting October 28, users can no longer upload content to the site and all content posted before will be gone by December 14.


What are the changes from the old Yahoo Groups?

Aside from the changes in content uploading, many functions will be removed from the site. Users can no longer access these features: files, polls, links, photos, folder, calendar, database, attachments, conversations, email updates, message digest, and message history.

Yahoo Groups will still exist but all public groups will be converted to private ones. The admins of these groups can still manage the settings but there will be functions that are restricted. Those who are new to the group will need an invitation from the admin. 

As stated, no new content can be uploaded on the site from October 28 so information sharing within the group’s members shall be done via email. Additionally, users can save photos and files from the group site or download their data from the Privacy Dashboard. It was also announced that they can still communicate with groups through email and search for private groups. 

According to a Yahoo representative, We are tailoring Groups' features to match the preferences of our Groups members, Most of our members connect and share content primarily over email, so we believe this change will streamline and improve the Groups experience. Yahoo Groups will continue to provide a way for people to connect with their communities around shared interests, and we will continue to listen to feedback to ensure we keep our users happy.

Will you miss the old format of Yahoo Groups? Share with us what you think!

Sources: Yahoo, TechRadar
Powered by Blogger.
close
gizguide